RunningManda's Blog

Tip!! Low cal drinks/snacks CAN add up!

Posted on: April 8, 2011

As I mention on my twitter earlier, I am in LOVE with low-calorie drink mixes. My favorite right now is Cherry Limeade which is made by a brand found at Walmart, Great Value. It seriously tastes like a glass of pixie stix. So good!

I make jugs of the sugar-free drinks at home and buy the individual packets to make a drink while I’m at work or in the car. But, even 10 calorie treats can add up!

I’ve been tracking what I eat for a couple years now and normally didn’t count the occasional piece of gum, mint or low cal drink. However, when I quit smoking I noticed my intake of these items went dramatically up! Its gotten better now that I’m over the 2 week mark, but I decided to try to do what I could to start slowing down my intake of these items. Sugar free mints, gum & candy are not nearly as bad as smoking, but some studies have linked too much intake of artificial sweeteners to some bad health outcomes, too.

So, by counting each piece of gum, candy or drink and tallying them through a day or two can make a person more aware of just how many calories they are spending on these “treats”. Also, I drink a mix on the way to work, but then make myself drink two glasses of water before making another drink mix. This helps to not only drink more water during the day, but to slow down how much artificial sugar I’m drinking as well. Those drinks are so good I could seriously drink a whole 24 oz glass in 5 minutes.

No joke! Hope the tip helps someone.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this super awesome amazing blog full of fun and receive notifications of new posts by email. RAD!

Join 7 other followers

Visits since April 2011

  • 1,546 hits

Categories (Intro is the 1st post)

What @RunningManda is tweeting!

  • So, bear w/me while I try to figure it out. I'm thinking this acct will have to go and I'll just link all things running to @dancewithmandi 5 years ago
  • 'ello! I'm back... w/3 accts! Cleanup time! ;/ Love running, but I'm now a zumba instructor @dancewithmandi plus my personal @amandabrookers 5 years ago
  • RT @amandabrookers: If your profile picture is a vehicle, I'm feeling it's safe to assume your cover is blown...everyone now knows you a ... 5 years ago
  • “@EatThisNotThat BEST BREAKFAST @ Jack in the Box: Breakfast Pita Pocket + Fruit Cup = 491 calories & 23 g fat!” <-Best?!?! Not in my book!! 6 years ago
  • @WakeUp_Taylor so, has the #fkfc explored Zumba? It's amazing! I'm becoming a certified instructor next month! Maybe I come & teach Tay&K :) 6 years ago

Older Posts

Post Calendar

April 2011
M T W T F S S
    May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
