RunningManda's Blog

Ooh, I’m in love <3

Posted on: April 13, 2011

Driving to work this morning my thoughts were of bliss. I was in love. I realized I was in love in this same way as a kid – but then I lost my way. First it was that I became too busy …and then I thought I was better without …and then I had gone so long without that I forgot how good it could be.

Yes, but now I was back in love… WITH BREAKFAST! Ooh, sweet breakfast, how I really do love, love, luuuuh-hove you. And, I’ve missed you so over the years.

Honestly, I did love breakfast growing up. Who didn’t? My mom stayed home so she always cooked us fresh breakfasts or had plenty of things to choose from if we were in a hurry. Eggs, bacon, pancakes, French toast, raisin bread, pop tarts, strudels, muffins, cereal, oatmeal, cinnamon rolls… Okay, I’ll stop before there’s drool all over the keyboard.

But, seriously, the turning point for when I stopped doing breakfast regularly, was probably when I became a teen and started going out and staying up too late. Partying and having fun Doing homework and studying, of course.  At that time in my life it became that every single second that I could sleep in became more important than having an extra minute to grab something to eat. I was always sprinting for the door.

Then came the weight issues. Even on days when I got up early enough to grab breakfast, I declined because it was not only breakfast I was trying to cut, but also any extra meals or calories. I think I went through almost every eating disorder possible. Anorexia, bulimia, a bit of both, and then diet pills with ephedrine helped me to become anorexic again – only with energy. Oh, those were good. I took those for years. Thank GOD they were pulled from shelves and made illegal. (And, yes, I even stockpiled them at that time and treated them like gold.) Those pills got me to the smallest weight I’ve ever been, but it was just a matter of time before I had some serious health issues from them. I’m surprised I never did have any issues from taking them for so long. But, as much as I loved the energy they gave me and the euphoria they gave me – I LOVE eating AND being healthy now even more.

After I found the Weight Watchers lifestyle (it totally works for me and is NOT a diet), I gained the ability to go to dinner with my family and indulge in whatever I want and be okay with it. For the first time in years to have that feeling is the BEST feeling in the world and totally beats any euphoria those pills gave me. But, back to the breakfast.. I love it and thought I would share some of my favorite things to eat for breakfast that really make you feel like you are indulging without having too many calories or ruining your entire day.

Since I quit smoking I have to snack on a little something on the commute to the office. My faves right now are 90 calorie breakfast cereal bars. Here’s some I dig that are all 90 cals (and 2 WW PointPlus):

Fiber One Peanut Butter & Chocolate
Fiber One Chocolate
Special K Chocolatey Pretzel (The sweet/salty and only 90 cals – IN HEAVEN!!!)
Great Value Strawberry with icing
Great Value Blueberry with icing

I have to eat something more substantial once I get to work, though. My two faves eggs/bread type “dishes” right now:

155 cal Egg (white) sandwich:
Cook two egg whites in a skillet
One slice of 2% cheese
2 Healthy Life bread

140 cal French Toast w/syrup
Whisk two egg whites
Dip two Healthy Choice slices of bread in egg whites
Grill on a griddle or in a pan
¼ cup Sugar Free Syrup is more than enough to dip or pour over
*Sometimes I use spray butter, too, just not sure about the cal content, so didn’t include it!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this super awesome amazing blog full of fun and receive notifications of new posts by email. RAD!

Join 7 other followers

Visits since April 2011

  • 1,544 hits

Categories (Intro is the 1st post)

What @RunningManda is tweeting!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Older Posts

Post Calendar

April 2011
M T W T F S S
    May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
