RunningManda's Blog

Hmm… May, June & now July – Where did you go?

Posted on: July 22, 2011

Okay, so maybe I should say where did I go?!? I’ve been here, there and everywhere …and have been very “bad”, too. Just haven’t had much time to devote into being healthy and I didn’t make the sacrifice to choose health over indulgence during these hectic weeks of baseball and barbeques. It’s SUMMER, people!

I’ve enjoyed my “non-errand” (work/school/running kids to games and practices/clipping coupons/sale watching) time by indulging in cookouts and parties and wine tasting and lots of fun with friends and family. Also, throw in a week of being “kid-free” when baseball ended and my parents had the kids for vacation = LOTS of indulgences and NO working out.

BUT, all good things must come to an end. I’ve enjoyed the past several weeks, thoroughly, but I’m ready to get back to “normal”. I’ve gained 15 pounds over the past six weeks or so and I DO feel miserable. I decided to ease back into being healthy again and getting my fitness back up to par.

This week I am focused on getting my diet back in line. Biggest “rule” I’ve placed on myself over the next couple of weeks: NO DRINKING!!! Drinking is not only empty calories, but I’ve gotten back out of hand where I indulge too much, get the “drunk munchies” and have been having cigarettes when drinking again. BOO!!! I know. L At least it was only when I was drinking, but I’m going back to what I did when I first started this blog. I’m going cold turkey and cutting out ALL alcohol for at least a couple of weeks. When I do introduce alcohol again it will be in small doses and I will measure my shots instead of doing the whole pour, pour, pour AND I will not be around smokers for a while.

Also, this week I focused on getting the crap out of my diet and eating my fruits and vegetables and smaller portions like I was used to before my summer splurge. Your stomach really does adjust to when you eat more/less and it takes some time to realize you can fill up by eating less, but is getting better. The only “bad” thing I had this week was a HUGE piece of cake on Wednesday …and Thursday – but it was my son’s 11th birthday and I HAD to have some of the birthday cake with him! … having it again Thursday was just for good measure. J I never have sweets in the house, so I’m not going to beat myself up over it. Otherwise, I’m being pretty good!

This weekend we are going to take the kids to my company’s private park to swim, cookout and listen to some bands because there’s a musical festival all day. The park does not allow alcohol or cigarettes on the premises, so it’s a perfect way to spend some time with the kids and not be tempted to drink or anything. Plus, they have grills all over the park, so we can bring in our own food and grill out, so I can be “good” on my diet, too and bring my boca burgers, etc…

Next week I should be back on “plan” with eating good and will focus on getting back to the gym and start my running back up. Last time I ran, which was a WHILE ago!, I was able to run for 60 minutes straight!!! J Hopefully I won’t be too badly out of shape when I start back up again. Monday is the day I’m shooting for to go back and get into it.

I promise to keep everyone updated and get this blog back in order. Thanks to any of you who have been checking in and just seeing that there are those of you who subscribe and send me comments and follow me on twitter really helps to keep the motivation going!

Have a great weekend and talk to you soon!

1 Response to "Hmm… May, June & now July – Where did you go?"

Glad to see you are back. I just ran my first 5K this past Saturday and I ran the whole thing and finished in 33:14. Not bad for my first time. Just bought running shoes on Tuesday, so I am ready to go. Actually getting ready to head to the gym for a lunch time 3 miler. Talk to you soon.

Simon

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this super awesome amazing blog full of fun and receive notifications of new posts by email. RAD!

Join 8 other subscribers

Visits since April 2011

  • 1,627 hits

Categories (Intro is the 1st post)

Older Posts

Post Calendar

July 2011
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031