RunningManda's Blog

Tattoo Talk! Ooh scandy, scandy!!

Posted on: August 23, 2011

Oh how I love new topics that don’t just flow into my brain on their own! Out on Freshly Pressed I saw an interesting post by Amanda Rudd.

I decided to answer her questions at the end of the post in regards to what tattoo’s do you have and why, etc…. and my comment ended up bringing me back to a fun (and COULDA BEEN CRAZY) memory of my long-lost youth. Okay, it was actually more like ALMOST 14 years ago (I’m not 30 YET!) but seems like forever ago now.

So, I thought I would make my comment into a post as well. Here ya go! (Oh, and check out Amanda’s post, too. It’s pretty awesome and has some really great pics!!)

I have two tattoo’s. Technically, I’ve been tatted three times, but only have two tattoo’s to show for it. (One was a coverup, can you say, OOPSIE DAISY?!)

First tattoo, very long story that I won’t go into right now, was a chinese symbol meaning love and the name Brandon spelled out below the symbol on my back. (In a quick, super quick disclosure, I did get that when I was dating a Brandon. Ended up marrying the same Brandon…and then divorcing him, too. Hence the oopsie! cover)


Speaking of that cover, I ended up getting a design with different sized stars to coverup the name and thenthey touched up the color in the chinese symbol (I still liked THAT) to match.


Other tattoo is unfortunately, a “tramp stamp”. Someone once told me not to call it that, but you know what? I got it, I own it. I’m not a tramp, but that’s what it’s called and that’s how people know exactly where it is without having to say “its right above my arse and below my lower back.” I digress… I did get it before it was popular and nicknamed the “tramp stamp”, in my defense. It’s my chinese horoscope symbol in the middle and a design on either side that flows off of it. (Sorry, can’t find a pic of that and don’t want to ask my hubbs to take a picture of my bum to upload right away. He’s busy and I’m 99% sure that would aggravate him! HA! But, I will try to get a pic uploaded and inserted at some point soon.)

I do love tattoo’s, but my only suggestion would be to sit on whatever decision you end up with for at least a couple of months before taking the plunge. When I was 16, I tried to get a tattoo with my friend from this guy who, get this, did them out of his double wide trailer for $50 hard cash. I was determined to get a green frog because for some weird reason I loved frogs at that time and green was also my favorite color. THANK GOD I decided to be super rebellious and attended a party the night before where some drunken scoundrel ended up stealing my money, so I had nothing to pay mister “I tattoo from my trailer” with. THANK GOD. Coming back to current day, I don’t really care for frogs (at all!) and my favorite color is pink. My, my, how things could have been sticky with my parents when they saw what I was intending to do that next day. I’m so glad a lot of my plans were foiled!!!! …not to mention what kind of diseases I could have ended up with if the guy didn’t have sterile equipment. And, that was almost 14 years ago! I’m scared for what my kids may just try to plot out in this day and age… Ay yi yi…

5 Responses to "Tattoo Talk! Ooh scandy, scandy!!"

Ha, yeah I think having the $50 disappear was a blessing in disguise. At least you don’t have to model a large “Hello Kitty” tat like this one 21+ year old did–fun idea at 17 not so good at 33.

Lol!!!!!! I know, it could always be worse, right?!? 🙂

The tattoo of Chinese love symbol with stars covering looks beautiful!

Aww!!! Thank you SO much! It was an awkward tattoo to coverup and took forever for me to figure out how/what I wanted to cover it up. One tattoo artist wanted to do an entire mural on my back!! Another wanted to do a dragonfly! All in all, I’m glad with what I ended up choosing! Thanks for the compliment! I appreciate it! 🙂

[…] = 'none'; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = ''; } Tattoo Talk! Ooh scandy, scandy!! body { background-color: #140000; […]

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this super awesome amazing blog full of fun and receive notifications of new posts by email. RAD!

Join 8 other subscribers

Visits since April 2011

  • 1,627 hits

Categories (Intro is the 1st post)

Older Posts

Post Calendar

August 2011
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031