RunningManda's Blog

Day 1…all over again, but DONE! :)

Posted on: July 26, 2011

So, I am now:

a) fully rested and haven’t talked with my good friend Vodka or her sister Moscato or any of their cousins in the alcohol garden in over a week and feeling good about that! (Also, hand in hand with drinking was my smoking. Since I haven’t drank, I haven’t smoked, either, nor have I wanted to!) I do love to drink and have a good time, but I also love to feel good and take breaks from it here and there. I have a feeling this is going to be an extended break …for a while. I really need to detox from the toxins associated with drinking and smoking cigarettes while drinking. It feels good to do it, too. Waking up on Saturday and Sunday fully rested and feeling great was phenomenal. I really missed how that felt! I got up and was practically bouncing around the house. I bet my kids didn’t know what to think about me being so chipper and up so early on the weekend! That made me smile. BIG. to be more full of energy than my boys on an early weekend morning. 🙂 They deserve me like this more times than not. I deserve to feel good more times than not. Just because it’s the weekend doesn’t mean I have to drink! I’ve decided I will go back to just drinking here and there. On occasion, not just because it’s Friday, or Saturday, or whatever my usual thought process is. Back to the basics of when I started this blog. I’m not going to be the alcohol patrol, but I know my addictive behavior and I’m going to keep it under lock and have it be the exception, rather than the norm, on the weekends or special occasions.

b) back on track with healthy (or healthier) eating for over a week now. (I’m not on a diet! I will NEVER do a “diet”, ever! I follow Weight Watcher philosophies and track what I eat. BUT, I eat what I want and just try to make choices, or change portion sizes to stay with a certain calorie/point limit within a day. Restrictions on any type of food does not work for me! I want what I can’t have, so nothing is “off-limits”. I just try to eat lots of fruits and veggies and always track my food to be aware of what I’m consuming. Sometimes I talk about my “diet”, but what I’m referring to is what I eat and that it won’t contain fast food or concession stand junk since baseball ended and we don’t have any travelling or events planned for at least a few weeks

c) RUNNING AGAIN! Not quite back on C25K, as I feel I’ve graduated it. I would recommend that program to ANYONE and everyone. It’s amazing. If it weren’t for C25K I would never have gotten to where I’m at now.

And, woo hoo, I’m feeling great tonight! Sitting here watching  Extreme Makeover: Weight Loss Edition and realized I should update everyone on my first day back into running as TODAY was the day to go back to the gym! So, while I didn’t quite run 60 minutes straight like I did when I stopped running, I did do pretty good. I ran for 15 minutes and the back of my left knee started to throb. I realized I didn’t do my stretches, so I took a few minutes to walk, then tried to do a few stretches, but it was too late. I’m not hurt, but decided to take it easy on my first day back.

So, altogether I ran 25 minutes and walked 20. I’m okay with that! 🙂

Alright, just realized I have not paid any attention to the show I’m watching. I really want to see this! I feel for Krista. SO much. I love these types of shows. They are so motivating. Could not have come at a better time then when I’m at my highest weight in forever and deciding to get back into changing my life, back to “HEALTH”, too. Come on Krista and come on Manda! And, come on to all of you out there!

PS I haven’t quite gotten back into twitter, yet, but that will come. We decided to remodel our kitchen with the spare time we have since baseball ended and football/soccer hasn’t started. I will get back on there more often. PROMISE! I’m proud of myself for this blog entry as a start! So, don’t give up on me, yet. 🙂

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this super awesome amazing blog full of fun and receive notifications of new posts by email. RAD!

Join 8 other subscribers

Visits since April 2011

  • 1,627 hits

Categories (Intro is the 1st post)

Older Posts

Post Calendar

July 2011
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031