RunningManda's Blog

What a crock!! No, I’m not talking butter…

Posted on: April 23, 2011

I was SO (and still am) totally preterbed after seeing the doc at the Sports Clinic. I called Friday to see if there were any cancellations and they had one! Yay, right?!? I went in at 11:30, got right in, had x-ray’s taken of my left knee and right ankle (before even seeing the doc??) and then met with the doctor.

Honestly, my first impression of the doctor was that he had either a very distinguished facial structure or he had some cosmetic work done. He also appeared to be wearing a wig, but I eventually decided that it must have been hair plugs. It wasn’t quit natural, but not a wig.

Anyhow, I’m not against people who have cosmetic surgeries or anything like that. Just stood out to me. He was probably in his late 60’s/early 70’s and so his appearance just made a mark in my head. Especially once we started interacting his appearance made sense, stereotypically, of course. He seemed nice at first, but it was apparent that he was talking only to hear himself speak. He didn’t listen to what I said, at all, and I really had a bad experience with him because of the following:

1) He did not even check out my foot or knee
2) He barely looked at the x-ray and said he knew what the issue was. He spewed some medical terms at me and didn’t elaborate on what they meant or a treatment plan.
3) He didn’t ask me how long I had been hurt or if it was getting better or worse.
4) I asked what the terms meant and when I should start getting back into walking, running, anything? His answer was that if it didn’t feel better after 3 days to call a trainer (a TRAINER?!?!?!)
5) I mentioned it had been hurt longer than 3 days and seemed to be getting worse even tho I was not running, or even walking. I mentioned I was trying to elevate my foot when possible and that made it feel better, but otherwise it consistently hurt. But, he was turned around messing with paperwork & I received no response.
6) After waiting for his response and not receiving one I followed up with “so, should I take it easy over the next three days or should I start working it again?” His response was to take advil and ice the knee & ankle. No answer to if I should take it easy or not.
7) Realizing he was still not listening and I was getting nowhere I asked him to write down the medical terms he used to describe  what was wrong with my knee and ankle. He wrote them on a business card and after handing me the card he turned and left the room!!!

I didn’t get a form to give the nurse, treatment plan or any further instruction or ANYTHING! In fact, they didn’t even put me in the same room that I was in before getting x-rays! So, my pants & purse were in a completely different room and I was left in the room wearing the sports shorts and holding a business card like “huh?!” I flagged down a nurse who found my jeans & purse in the other room and I changed and left.

Next time I’m hurt I am going to my own doctor. Forget the specialized sports clinics. What a total crock.

Anyway, live and learn, right? On to bigger and better and living the dream regardless of bad experiences along the way. Right now I’m in the car with my hubbs & kids on the way to St Louis! We got dugout box tickets to the Cardinals game today!! So, I will be getting my walking in today, for sure. Fingers crossed I don’t do any further damage! Its been a week today that I still can’t even walk without pain and limping. How frustrating.

I just want to run again. Was really digging the C25K program and my daily runs to look forward to. 😦 Can not wait to be all better and running again. Regardless of how I feel I am getting back in to at least walking again. I’ve tried the “not using it” and doesn’t appear to be getting better, so I’ll just take my advil and slowly get back into it!

Have a great Easter weekend everyone!

5 Responses to "What a crock!! No, I’m not talking butter…"

Hang in there and rest up, dont go back too soon you might make it worse. i always chat to the trainers at the gym if i am injured as they do listen! good luck, love your blog!

Thank you SO much! Awesome to hear I’m not just talking to myself and that you like my blog! 🙂 The ankle is feeling much better today. Amazing what taking it easy and then gradual walking/ice/advil can do when an injury strikes. Definitely glad I did stop running immediately and take a pause from my momentum. You’re absolutely right – I could’ve really hurt myself! Breaks are good! And, now I know the importance of good stretching before AND after!!!

glad you are getting better x

I read this post completely concerning the resemblance of most up-to-date and preceding technologies, it’s amazing article.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this super awesome amazing blog full of fun and receive notifications of new posts by email. RAD!

Join 8 other subscribers

Visits since April 2011

  • 1,627 hits

Categories (Intro is the 1st post)

Older Posts

Post Calendar

April 2011
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930